الحياة خارج الفصل الدراسي

النموذج السادس

التعلّم عالي الأداء

متعاطف

مرن

جاد

  • تعاوني
  • معني بالمجتمع
  • موثوق
  • الاستفسار
  • مبدع وجريء
  • منفتح
  • مُخاطِر
  • الممارسة
  • العزيمة
  • الصمود

يكمل طلاب دراساتنا التكميلية مرتين كل أسبوعين لاستكشاف سمات إضافية لمعرفتهم الأكاديمية ولتعزيز سماتهم السلوكية. ولكي يتمكن الطلاب من دعم تطبيقاتهم الجامعية على أفضل وجه والتميز، يجب عليهم الاستفادة من عاميهم في البرنامج لتطوير مجموعة فريدة من الأنشطة خارج المنهج خلال هذا الوقت وكذلك من خلال أنشطة لاصفية وهوايات واهتمامات إضافية. يرجى الرجوع إلى كتيب النموذج السادس للحصول على قائمة بالأنشطة المعروضة.

أسبوع الآفاق وتجربة العمل

إن أسبوع الآفاق ميزة فريدة من سمات أكاديمية ويلينجتون الخيل، وهو عنصر أساسي في تقديم منهج دراسي كامل وواسع. يوفر أسبوع الآفاق الفرصة للطلاب لتحدي أنفسهم بخبرات جديدة والتعلم من مجموعة متنوعة من الأنشطة، التي غالبًا ما تقع خارج نطاق برامجنا الأكاديمية والمناهج الدراسية. إننا في أكاديمية ويلينجتون الخيل نؤمن إيمانًا راسخًا بأن ما يحدث خارج الفصل الدراسي لا يقل أهمية عما يحدث فيه.

ستتاح لطلاب السنة 12 الفرصة للمشاركة في الأنشطة من مساعدة المجتمعات المحلية في كينيا إلى المشاركة في بعثات دوق إدنبرة في نيبال. وخلال هذا الأسبوع، ستتاح للطلاب أيضًا الفرصة للمشاركة في تجربة العمل لتعزيز محفظتهم. من المتوقع هو أن يشغَل الطلاب مكانهم الخاص وأن يجدوا هذا المكان.

برنامج جائزة دوق أدنبرة

برنامج جائزة دوق إدنبرة برنامج راسخ يوفر لطلابنا إمكانية الوصول إلى هذه الجائزة الشهيرة والمعترف بها دوليًا. يكمل غالبية طلابنا في النموذج السادس الجائزة الفضية في السنة 12، حيث يسافر الطلاب في رحلة استكشافية إلى نيبال. وهذا بلا شك جانب بارز من وقتهم في نموذجنا السادس. تشمل الجائزة الفضية أقسامًا في مجال التطوع، والتنمية البدنية، وتنمية المهارات، مع رحلة استكشافية ومكون سكني.

جائزة القادة الرياضيين

يقدم قسم التربية البدنية لطلاب النموذج السادس الفرصة لإكمال جائزة قادة الرياضة من المستوى 2 في المملكة المتحدة. تعمل هذه الجائزة، التي تركز على التعلم الموجه والتعلم من نظير إلى نظير، على تطوير التواصل الفعال والتنظيم مع تجهيز الطلاب لقيادة الأنشطة البدنية الأساسية للطلاب الأصغر سنًا وأقرانهم والبالغين.

نموذج الأمم المتحدة (MUN)

تدير المدرسة ناديًا ناجحًا لنموذج الأمم المتحدة والمناظرة. وعلى الرغم من أن هذا البرنامج مدعوم من قبل الموظفين، إلا أنه يتم تشغيله إلى حد كبير من قبل أمين عام منتخب للنموذج السادس ومديري نموذج الأمم المتحدة. سيمثل أعضاء النادي أكاديميةَ ويلينجتون الخيل في عدد من مسابقات MUN المحلية والمناظرات المحلية، وهؤلاء الطلاب مسؤولون عن تدريب الطلاب الأصغر سنًا على تطوير المهارات والسمات المطلوبة للنجاح.

منهج المستقبل العالمي

منهج المستقبل العالمي (GFC) هو برنامج مخصص لطلاب المدارس الثانوية تم إنشاؤه بالاشتراك مع أكاديمية جيمس وجامعة Singularity. يوفر GFC للطلاب البصيرة والإطار المفاهيمي والأدوات للفهم والنجاح في مجتمع سريع التغير

يتكون GFC في أكاديمية ويلينجتون الخيل من عشر وحدات مدتها ساعتان للطلاب الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 14 و18 عامًا. يتيح البرنامج للطلاب فهم طبيعة التقنيات المتسارعة (علم الوراثة، وتكنولوجيا النانو، والروبوتات، والحوسبة الكمية، والواقع المعزز والافتراضي، والطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد، ورسم خرائط الدماغ ومسح الدماغ، وأجهزة الاستشعار، وما إلى ذلك) وكيفية الاستفادة منها لتحقيق نجاحهم المستقبلي في عالم من التغيير المتسارع.

التدريب

بدءًا من سبتمبر 2020، سيحصل الطلاب الذين يتبعون مسار IBTEC مهنيًا على إمكانية الوصول أيضًا إلى برنامج تدريب داخلي. وهذا يعني أن الطلاب لديهم الفرصة لاكتساب إمكانية الوصول الأسبوعي إلى تجربة عمل مخصصة، ومن خلال القيام بذلك، التعلم من الخبراء في مجالهم.

للقيام بذلك، سيتم تطوير برنامج مفصل لكل طالب لإتاحة الوقت خارج المدرسة وفي مكان عملهم. وتقوم أكاديمية ويلينجتون الخيل من خلال الدعم والشبكة الواسعة من أكاديمية جيمس للتعليم بتطوير شراكات مختلفة مع نطاق الصناعة المحلي.

ستهتم الجامعات بطبيعة الحال بالطلاب الذين لديهم خبرة عملية مباشرة تواكب مؤهلاتهم في BTEC.

الفنون التمثيلية

تتوفر مجموعة غنية وغزيرة من فرص الأداء لكل طالب في أكاديمية ويلينجتون الخيل. تستضيف أقسام الموسيقى والدراما برنامجًا مزدهرًا من الأحداث المشتركة في المناهج الدراسية، التي تشمل مجموعة متنوعة من الأنشطة التي تشجع وتتحدى الأعداد الكبيرة من الطلاب الذين يشاركون بانتظام.

وثمة الكثير مما يمكن المشاركة فيه، من الإنتاج الكبير لجميع الأعمار إلى القطع الموسيقية الأصغر ومسابقة الدراما المنزلية.

تمكّن صناعة الفنون وأداؤها في أكاديمية ويلينجتون الخيل من تطوير المهارات الحياتية الأساسية: الثقة بالنفس الجسدية والصوتية، والتخصصات الاجتماعية للعمل في مجموعة، والنطاق العاطفي الممتد، وتنمية الإبداع واحترام عمل الآخرين.

ويتمتع القسم بسمعة حسنة بفضل جودة أعمال الأداء العام والكتابة الأصلية. تضمنت مشاريع الأداء السابقة ساحر أوز، وآني، والجميلة والوحش، وبيتر بان، وأحدث مثبتات الشعر. يمكن للطلاب أيضًا اختيار المشاركة في المسرح الفني والأزياء وأدوار المنزل. تشكل الإنتاجات المسرحية، بالنسبة للعديد من طلابنا، أهم ما يميز عامهم. إن الشغف والموهبة والرعاية والدعم أمور تدخل في صنع مشاريعنا المسرحية، وهي ملهمة ولا تُنسى دائمًا.

 

اكتشف النموذج السادس

X

Life Beyond the Classroom

Sixth Form

High Performance Learning 

Empathetic 

Agile

Hardworking

  • Collaborative
  • Concerned for society
  • Confident 
  • Enquiring
  • Creative and enterprising 
  • Open-minded
  • Risk-taking
  • Practice 
  • Perseverance 
  • Resilience

Sixth Form students complete in our Complementary studies twice every fortnight to explore additional attributes to their academics and to enhance their behavioral traits. In  order  for  students  to best support  their University  applications and  stand  out, they should use their 2 years of the programme  to  develop a unique portfolio of activities outside of the curriculum through this time as well as through additional ECA’s, hobbies and interests. Please refer to our Sixth Form handbook for a list of activities on offer.  

Horizons Week and Work Experience  

Horizons Week is a unique feature of WEK, and is a key component in our delivery of a full and broad curriculum. Horizons Week provides the opportunity for students to challenge themselves with new experiences and learn from a diverse range of activities, which often lie beyond the scope of our academic and co-curricular programmes. Here at WEK we strongly believe that what happens outside of the classroom is just as important as what happens in it.  

Year 12 students will have the opportunity to take part in activities from helping local communities in Kenya to taking part in Duke of Edinburgh expeditions in Nepal. During this week, students will also have the opportunity to take part in work experience to further enhance their portfolio. The expectation is that students take ownership of their own placement and will be expected to find their own placement. 

Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme 

The Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme is a well-established programme, which provides our students with access to this internationally recognised and well-regarded award. The majority of our Sixth Form students complete the Silver Award in Year 12, with the students traveling on an overseas expedition to Nepal. This is undoubtedly a real highlight of their time in our Sixth Form. The Silver Award includes sections in Volunteering, Physical and Skills development, with an expedition and residential component. 

Sports Leaders Award 

The PE department offers Sixth Form students the opportunity to complete the Level 2 UK Sports Leaders Award. Focusing on guided and peer-to-peer learning, this award develops effective communication and organisation whilst equipping the students to lead basic physical activities to younger students, their peers, and adults. 

Model United Nations (MUN) 

The school runs a successful MUN and debating club. Although supported by staff, this programme is largely operated by an elected Sixth Form Secretary General and MUN directors. The club members will represent WEK at a number of local MUN and debating competitions and these students are responsible for coaching the younger students to develop skills and attributes required to be successful. 

Global Futures Curriculum 

The Global Futures Curriculum (GFC) is a bespoke programme for high school students co-created by GEMS and Singularity University. The GFC provides students with the insight, conceptual framework and tools to understand, and succeed in, a rapidly changing society.   

The GFC at WEK consists of ten 2hour modules for students aged 14-18. The programme allows students to understand the nature of exponential technologies (Genetics, Nanotech, Robotics, Quantum Computing, Augmented and Virtual Reality, 3 D printing, Brain mapping and brain scanning, Sensors etc.) and how to leverage it for their future success in a world of accelerating change.   

Internships 

Starting in September 2020, students following an IBTEC Career Related Pathway will also gain access to an internship programme. This will mean students having the opportunity to gain weekly access to dedicated work experience and by doing so, learn from the experts in their field. 

To do this, a bespoke programme will be developed for each student to allow time out of school and in their work placement.  WEK through the support and extensive network of GEMS Education are currently developing various partnerships with local industry. 

Universities will naturally be interested with students that have first-hand work experience to go with their BTEC qualifications.  

Performing Arts 

A rich and prolific range of performance opportunities are available to every student at WEK. The Music and Drama Departments host a thriving programme of co-curricular events encompassing a variety of activities that encourage and challenge the large numbers of students that regularly participate. 

From grand scale productions for all ages to smaller ensemble pieces and a House Drama competition, there is plenty to be involved with.  

The making and performing of arts at WEK enable students to develop essential life skills: physical and vocal self-confidence, the social disciplines of working in a group, an extended emotional range, development of creativity and a respect for the work of others. 

The department has an enviable reputation for the quality of its public performance work and original writing. Past performance projects have included the Wizard of Oz, Annie, Beauty and the Beast, Peter Pan and the most recent Hairspray. Students can also opt to be involved in technical theatre, costume and front of house roles. Theatre productions, for many of our students, form the highlight of their year. The passion, talent, care and support that goes into the making of our theatre projects is inspirational and always unforgettable. 

 

Explore Sixth Form

X
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Confirm